So british !

The exhibition

So British! showcases the British art of living with fifty mythical, post-war British cars. ‘The British way of life’ underlies the whole exhibition.

So British! offers total immersion among post-war British cars.

The British way of Life

In this festive end-of-year period, the whole museum has been transformed into a traditional Christmas shopping experience with beautiful decorations, a giant Christmas tree, Christmas window displays set amid the decor, and a shop selling many gifts that will delight young and old.

Those who know London know that the British have no reluctance in bringing out their beautiful old-timers or their supercars; the most modern and exclusive cars rub shoulders with popular and vintage cars. This is why ‘So British!’ delightfully brings together everything a petrolhead could dream of!

Reaching the museum’s mezzanine, the visitor finds themselves in a decor that recreates Piccadilly Circus and its traffic in ‘pause’ mode. No chronological order or alignment by brand... the cars are placed, as they would be in the English capital, in a funny mix of genres.

Reviving brands that have now disappeared!

More than 50 mythical English cars from the post-war period—including rare and high-end vehicles—will be installed in this London decor.

There will not only be all the existing brands—Aston Martin, Bentley, Jaguar, Land Rover, Lotus, McLaren, Mini, and Rolls Royce—but also those that are now just a memory to British car lovers.

Brands that disappeared a long time ago that few people had the chance to see ‘in real life’. For example, a Gordon Keeble of which only 99 were made, or even a Jowett Jupiter or a Marcos… Not to mention Saloon cars which are so typical of the British style! You will also be pleased to find Austins, Bristols, Hillmans, Jaguars, MGs, Triumphs, and even Vauxhaulls, to mention but a few.

After the war, all these brands were much loved in our country and those who could afford a Sunbeam, Singer, Humber, Hillman, or Vauxhall were among the lucky few.

Sporty and exclusive

Austin Healey, MG A and MG B, Triumph TR… Beautiful Aston Martin, Jaguar XK, and, of course, the e-type which Enzo Ferrari said was the most beautiful car in existence… More sporty—a Lotus, a Bristol… All these cars at the forefront of 1950s and 1960s history will tell their own anecdotes of a bygone era.

A Black Box for a handful of supercars

Supercars are on their own level. These outstanding cars are placed in a showcase: a ‘Black Box’ outside the London time and space. No more than five or six cars… but what cars! The McLaren, Jaguar or Bentley among others…

British motorbikes

The British countryside—the valleys of Kent and the hills of the Highlands—should be enjoyed on legendary motorbikes. Brough Superior, Norton, Triumph, Velocette, Vincent… are a few of the brands that deserve their place in the exhibition.

Our partners’ cars

So British! is broadly supported by all the British car brands that still exist. These partners’ historic cars will, of course, be on display in the exhibition—and you can catch a glimpse of their latest models showcased on the museum’s ground floor.

We would like to thank: Aston Martin, Bentley, Jaguar, Land Rover, Lotus, McLaren, Mini, and Rolls Royce.

Shopping at Autoworld

When they leave the museum, visitors will go through the shop where a great many souvenirs are available: from miniatures to fun little gadgets such as mugs, USB sticks, keyrings, and much more. Not to mention our partners’ great merchandise, an Autoworld sweater, the exhibition catalogue written by Bart Lenaerts, the exhibition poster, books, DVDs, etc.

Opening hours

Open 7/7 - 10.00-17.00 / Weekend 10.00-18.00

Open on bank holidays

Admission

  • Adult :

    14€

  • Senior (65+) :

    12€

  • Student :

    10€

  • Children (6 to 11 year old) :

    6€

  • Children < 6 year old :

    free

  • Disabled :

    10€

  • Guide :

    85€

Avoid long rows at the reception desk and save 1 € per online ticket.

Tickets

So british !

The exhibition

So British !  traduit, autour d’une cinquantaine de voitures mythiques anglaises d’après-guerre, l’art de vivre britannique. « The British way of life » est omniprésent en filigranes tout au long de l’exposition.

So British !, c’est à coup sûr une immersion totale dans l’Angleterre automobile de l’après-guerre.

The British way of Life

En cette période de fêtes de fin d’année, c’est le musée tout entier qui s’est mis à l’heure du Christmas shopping traditionnel avec ses belles décorations, son sapin de Noël géant, ses vitrines de Noël intégrées dans le décor et un shop proposant autant de cadeaux qui raviront petits et grands.

Ceux et celles qui connaissent Londres savent que les Britanniques n’ont aucun problème à sortir leurs belles oldtimers ou leurs supercars ; les voitures les plus modernes et les plus exclusives côtoient les véhicules populaires et vintage. C’est pourquoi « So British ! » mêle joyeusement tout ce dont un petrolhead peut rêver !

En débouchant sur la mezzanine du musée, le visiteur se retrouve dans un décor recréant Piccadilly Circus et son trafic en mode « pause ». Pas d’ordre chronologique ni d’alignement par marque… les voitures sont placées, comme dans la capitale anglaise, dans un drôle de mélange de genres.

Ressusciter les marques aujourd’hui disparues !

Plus de 50 voitures mythiques anglaises d’après-guerre - parmi lesquelles quelques véhicules rares et exceptionnels - seront installées dans ce décor londonien.

Seront présentes, non seulement toutes les marques existantes - Aston Martin, Bentley, Jaguar, Land Rover, Lotus, McLaren, Mini, Rolls Royce – mais aussi celles qui ne sont plus qu’un souvenir dans les mémoires des amateurs de voitures anglaises.

Des marques depuis longtemps disparues et que peu de gens ont eu la chance de voir « en vrai ». Citons, par exemple, une Gordon Keeble dont il ne fut fabriqué que 99 exemplaires, ou encore une Jowett Jupiter et une Marcos… Et que dire des « Saloon cars », ces berlines si typiques du style britannique ! On y (re)trouvera aussi avec plaisir des Austin, Bristol, Hillman, Jaguar, MG, Triumph ou encore Vauxhall, pour n’en citer que quelques-unes.

Après la guerre, toutes ses marques étaient fort appréciées dans notre pays et ceux qui pouvaient s’offrir une Sunbeam, une Singer, une Humber, une Hillman ou une Vauxhall étaient d’heureux élus.

Sportives et exclusives

Austin Healey, MG A et MG B, Triumph TR… Belles Aston Martin, Jaguar XK et, bien sûr, la e-type dont Enzo Ferrrari disait qu’elle était la plus belle des voitures existantes… Plus sportives, une Lotus, une Bristol… Toutes ces voitures à la pointe de l’histoire des années ’50 et ’60 raconteront leur lot d’anecdotes d’une époque révolue.

Une Black Box pour une poignée de supercars

Les supercars ont leur monde à eux. Ces voitures hors normes sont installées dans un écrin, une « Black Box » hors du temps et de l’espace londonien. Cinq à six voitures… pas plus… mais quelles voitures ! La Mclaren, Jaguar ou Bentley entre autres…

L’Angleterre des motos

La campagne anglaise, les valons du Kent et les collines des Highlands se parcourent tout autant sur des motos de légende. Brough Superior, Norton, Triumph, Velocette, Vincent... sont quelques-unes des marques qui seront en bonne place dans l’exposition.

Les voitures de nos partenaires

So British ! est largement soutenue par toutes les marques de voitures anglaises encore existantes. Les voitures historiques de ces partenaires seront bien entendu présentes dans l’exposition – et un aperçu de leurs derniers modèles seront mis en valeur au rez-de-chaussée du musée.

Citons, en les remerciant : Aston Martin, Bentley, Jaguar, Land Rover, Lotus, McLaren, Mini et Rolls Royce.

Shopping à Autoworld

En quittant le musée, le visiteur traversera le shop où sont proposés un grand nombre de souvenirs ; des modèles réduits aux petits objets sympathiques tels des mugs, des clés USB, des porte-clés… Mais aussi de sympathiques objets de nos partenaires, un sweater aux couleurs d’Autoworld, le catalogue de l’exposition rédigé par Bart Lenaerts, l’affiche de l’exposition, des livres, des DVDs, ...

Horaires

Ouvert 7 sur 7 de 10h à 17h / Le weekend de 10h à 18h

Ouvert les jours fériés

Prix

  • Adulte :

    14€

  • Senior (65+) :

    12€

  • Étudiant :

    10€

  • Enfants (6 à 11 ans) :

    6€

  • Enfants < 6 ans :

    gratuit

  • PMR :

    10€

  • Guide :

    85€

Evitez les longues queues à la caisse et profitez d'une réduction de 1 € par ticket online.

Tickets